Dr. Robinson receives teaching award.

Mathematical Association of America Southeastern Section
Distinguished Teaching Award
Stephen Robinson

The Board of Governors of the Mathematical Association of America instituted the Award for Distinguished College of University Teaching of Mathematics at its meeting in San Francisco, California, on January 15, 1991. There will be awards at both the Sectional and national level, with recipients of Section Awards being considered for the national awards. Each of the Sections will select a recipient of the Section Award, to be honored by the Section at its annual spring meeting. The awardee will then be the official Section candidate for the national awards.

Ron Taylor made the following remarks as he presented the award on March 25, 2016 at the section MAA meeting at University of Alabama Birmingham.

The 2016 recipient of the MAA Southeastern Section Award for Distinguished Teaching by a College or University Mathematics Faculty Member has been described by departmental colleagues and students as follows: The honoree’s colleagues describe… our recipient as an active teacher-scholar who exemplifies everything that the mathematical community prizes in university faculty. They also describe… his breadth of student engagement through working with students on 16 undergraduate research projects and nine masters theses, many of which have led to publications. Colleagues commend this person’s… willingness to forego a teaching release in order to make sure colleagues did not have to teach overloads.

One colleague described our winner’s teaching as… student-centered, goal-driven and using writing-to-learn, collaborative learning and inquiry-based learning.
Students describe our honoree as… demanding yet popular with a classroom atmosphere that is challenging and interesting. One student describes our winner’s classroom as… a place where no question goes without fur-ther exploration.  …finally… A colleague expressed… his relief “(our recipient) was not up for it (the Distinguished Teaching Award) when I won it, as even I would have voted for him ahead of me.” Please join me in congratulating the recipient of the 2016 MAA Southeastern Section Award for Distinguished Teaching—Dr. Steve Robinson of Wake Forest University.


Comments are closed.